Weening (39) in the preselection Trek for Giro, Mollema Leader in Vuelta | Right away

Pieter Weening will most likely start at the Giro d’Italia. The 39-year-old Dutchman, who had been without a team for six months, was included in Trek-Segrafredo’s nine-man preselection. Bauke Mollema is sure that he will be the leader of the American formation at the Vuelta a Espaa.

Team principal Steven de Jongh said on Thursday that Weening had to prepare for the Giro and that he was now actually part of the provisional squad, from which two more riders would have to be removed. Koen de Kort is another Dutchman in The Provisional Selection Corps of Trek, which also consists of Vincenzo Nibali, Giulio Ciccone, Gianluca Brambilla, Nicola Conci, Jacopo Mosca, Antonio Nibali and Jules Bernard. Vincenzo Nibali scores his third overall victory at the Giro.

For Weening, it still seems like a nice cycling year after it looked like he was quitting. In recent years, the Frisian rode for the continental formation Roompot-Charles, which ceased to exist at the end of last year. Earlier this month, he found a new team with Trek.

Weening won a stage at the Giro in 2011 and even rode for four days in the pink leader jersey. In 2014 he also had daily successes at the Tour of Italy.

Pieter Weening at the 2011 Giro in a pink leader’s jersey. (Photo: Getty Images)

Porte and Mollema Ride Tour

Mollema was already known for riding both the Tour de France and the Vuelta. The 33-year-old Dutchman is the leader of the Vuelta and has another asset in the Tour Trek with Richie Porte.

The tour selection of Trek also consists of the riders Kenny Elissonde, Alex Kirsch, Mads Pedersen, Toms Skujis, Jasper Stuyven and Edward Theuns and one of them has to lose weight.

Trek will not announce who will compete alongside Mollema at the Vuelta, which starts on October 20, but will not be announced until later this year. The tour runs from 29 August to 20 September and the Giro from 3 to 25 October.

Pre-selectionS Trek-Segadredo

  • Tour: Bauke Mollema (Netherlands), Richie Porte (Australia), Niklas Eg (Denmark), Kenny Elissonde (France), Alex Kirsch (Luxembourg), Mads Pedersen (Denmark), Toms Skuéjis (Latvia), Jasper Stuyven (Belgium), Edward Theuns (Belgium)
  • Giro: Vincenzo Nibali (Italy), Giulio Ciccone (Italy), Gianluca Brambilla (Italy), Nicola Conci (Italy), Jacopo Mosca (Italy), Antonio Nibali (Italy), Koen de Kort (Netherlands) and Jules Bernard (France)